New gear

Posted by: idahosteve

New gear - 11/13/09 04:19 PM

I'm new to this UL forum, not really new to packing light, but as a now retired climber the joke was always that we carried 50lbs of the worlds lightest stuff! Its truly amazing what a difference not having climbing gear has made in the last year of hiking. I am really looking forward to many more miles without the big loads.
I just took the leap and upgraded my pack and tent to a SMD Lunar Duo and Starlite and am really excited to begin thrashing it about here in Idaho.
Wanted to know who else has been using SMD gear and their feedback.
Posted by: mugs

Re: New gear - 11/13/09 09:48 PM

I have one of the original (2005) editions fo the SMD lunar solo and love it. It is by far my fave tent if I am not going to take a tarp.
By the way where at in Idaho do you live. If you close to my area (Spokane) maybe we could hook up some time.
Posted by: hikerduane

Re: New gear - 11/13/09 10:14 PM

I have had my Starlite for one season now. It has been working great. I have some soreness on my collar bone?, but nothing like a major soreness and that is with a pack weight over what is intended, like in the 35 lb. range. My Bearicade Weekender canister works in it too. I initially thought I had a problem, but it was my first time packing it.

Re: New gear - 11/13/09 11:11 PM

I am located West of Boise at the edge of the desert. I have spent a lot of time in the Sawtooths, and pretty much know them inside and out. By all means if you are wanting to get this way we can hook up, and there should be some other cool stuff 1/2 way between to check out as well. I know that I'm interested in Gospel Hump as well.
Cheers!
Posted by: OregonMouse

Re: New gear - 11/14/09 08:34 PM