Wool survival blanket!

Posted by: chekboy2

Wool survival blanket! - 01/17/09 10:05 PM

Im new to backpacking and i am trying to get all my gear ready for my first winter trip. I live and hike mostly in the southeast. I was wandering if these 100% wool survival blankets that i have seen at the army surpluse store are actually as warm as they claim to be. i was going to use this with a 20 degree sleeping bag becuase i cant really afford to buy a nice bag right now. if any of you have any experience with these blankets let me have your input. you guys would know better than i would.
Posted by: phat

Re: Wool survival blanket! - 01/17/09 10:26 PM

Most of the "wool survival blankets" I've seen in surplus stores are

1) heavy
2) usually about 50% wool.

aka, generally kind of crappy.

While they may actually be warm, If you already have a 20 degree bag, when are you trying to go out? You can probably do better heading into a second hand clothing store and finding yourself some fleece and/or cashemere sweaters to wear in the bag at night. alternatively find second cheap barrel bag at wal-mart and put your existing bag inside it. It'll be lighter and you'll probably be warmer.

Posted by: aimless

Re: Wool survival blanket! - 01/17/09 10:52 PM

I carry a horse-blanket-style wool blanket with me... in the trunk of my car. It makes sense there. I suspect that a synthetic-fill sleeping bag that is lower-rated than 20 would make more sense if you plan to hike in a very low temp season of the year.

Remember, the main function of insulation is to create dead air space near your body that your body heat can linger within. The colder it is, the deeper a layer of dead air you need surrounding you to stay warm. A wool blanket may not be the best way to enlarge that space.