self-defense

Posted by: paul766

self-defense - 01/14/09 06:02 PM

I have recently become interested in backpacking and winter camping and was curious as to what type of pistol/revolver any are carrying on there excursions into the backcountry. I have grown to appreciate the need for lighter and more compact items and have pretty much gone in the direction of a Smith and Wesson airlite revolver. What say the experienced. Thanks for any ideas and practical thoughts beforehand.
Posted by: scottmphoto

Re: self-defense - 01/14/09 06:57 PM

I like lightweight as much as the next guy but some things are just worth the extra weight. Depending on where, when and with who I'm going, I will sometime carry my older Ruger P94 9mm. It's not a fancy or expensive gun... but in the last 15-16 years that I have owned it...it has never let me down.

Posted by: Pika

Re: self-defense - 01/14/09 09:06 PM

I don't carry anything. I've been backpacking for over 60 years including in grizzly country and have never been in a situation where a firearm would have changed anything. I like to shoot, and do so often, but carrying 2 pounds of basically dead weight on the trail is not to my taste.
Posted by: OregonMouse

Re: self-defense - 01/15/09 09:34 AM

I agree with Pika. The extremely remote chances of needing the firearm are not worth the weight. Add to this that a pistol, even extremely well-aimed, is not an effective weapon against a large charging animal like a grizzly--it will just make him madder.

The other reason I don't carry a firearm is that my history (which includes a rifle target-shooting class in college along with growing up in a hunting family and 20 years of marriage to a hunter/target shooter) only proves that I couldn't hit the side of a barn when inside it. If I can't hit what I'm shooting at, there's definitely no point in carrying!
Posted by: Wolfeye

Re: self-defense - 01/15/09 02:05 PM